Kansas State Board of Education Candidates Answer Questions on Science

Over the past 10 years, science education issues have been points of contention among members of the Kansas State Board of Education (SBOE). These issues have included the adoption of public school science standards, the Board members’ openness to recommendations of the science community in making policy, and sex education.

In the upcoming Board of Education election, Kansans will elect SBOE representatives from five districts. All but one position have two candidates.

Since most candidates’ stands on science education issues will be unfamiliar to voters, Kansas Citizens For Science has prepared and submitted questionnaires dealing with these issues to all 8 current candidates. An additional candidate in District 1 will be sent a questionnaire when they are selected by the Republican party. These questionnaires are being posted in their entirety, as they are received.

Questionnaires received so far are indicated in red.

District 1 – Janet Waugh, Dawn Weston (withdrawn from the race and will be replaced after the primary)

District 3 – Dennis George, John Bacon

District 5 – Sally Cauble

District 7 – Ken Willard, M.T. Liggett

District 9 – Jana Shaver, Robert Medford

To access the full documents, see this map of the school board districts.

KCFS is a not-for-profit educational organization that promotes a better understanding of what science is and does by:

• Advocating for science education
• Educating the public about the nature and value of science
• Serving as an information resource